



Abstract Submission

The extended abstract submission should be done no later than 1st of March, 2013, via www.iceem.eu. After the review process, the accepted abstracts (2 pages) will be published electronically in a Book of Abstracts.

The 2nd conference call and decisions on abstract acceptance will be available after May 1st 2013.

Selected papers by the International Scientific Committee will be published in special issues of the journals:

- Environmental Engineering and Management Journal (ISI impact factor 1.004)
- New Biotechnology (ISI impact factor 2.867)
- Energy, Sustainability and Society
- •International Journal of Nonlinear Sciences and Numerical Simulations (ISI impact factor 1.484)

The Conference language is English.

Fees

The fees for the ICEEM 07 Conference will include the conference materials (Program, Abstracts book), coffee breaks, lunches and the conference dinner.

- Full fee: 300 EUR,
- M.Sc. and PhD students fee: 200 EUR. This reduced fee will be available for 20 participants through competition. More details on www.iceem.eu

Contacts

For details see the conference site: www.iceem.eu, or contact the Conference Organizing Committee: iceem07@iceem.eu



Faculty of Technical Chemistry Institute of Chemical Engineering Thermal Process Engineering and Simulation Research Division



Faculty of Chemical Engineerng and Environmental Protection Department of Environmental **Engineering and Management**

7TH INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE ON ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING AND MANAGEMENT

Integration Challenges for Sustainability

1st Call for Papers



18 - 21 September 2013

Vienna, Austria www.iceem.eu

Partners:

- European Federation of Biotechnology, Environmental **Biotechnology section**
- InterMEDIU Information, Consultancy and DL Department, TUIASI, Romania
- Academic Organization for Environmental Engineering and Sustainable Development (OAIMDD), Iași, Romania

















Foreword

The 7th edition of ICEEM continues its international and collaborative character, this time being organized by the "Gheorghe Asachi" Technical University of Iasi, Romania and the Vienna University of Technology, Austria, in close cooperation with the Environmental Biotechnology section of the European Federation of Biotechnology (EFB).

This ICEEM edition seeks to bring together researchers, practitioners and specialists in various environmental fields, with a strong focus on integrating cutting-edge environmental technologies with efficient management practices, contributing thus to a sustainable future.

Like before, ICEEM 07 strongly encourages contributions that focus on innovation, multidisciplinarity and cross-sectorial approaches related to environmental issues.

Furthermore, the ICEEM conference welcomes contributions of young and senior scientists, and at the same time it encourages practitioners and specialists in various environmental fields to add a more practical-oriented approach to the conference sessions.

We hope that the seminars, workshops, plenary sessions and sideevents of ICEEM will enhance multidisciplinarity, international cooperation and effective communication of scientists, engineers and managers.

Conference chairpersons:

Prof.dr., dr.h.c. Carmen Teodosiu "Gheorghe Asachi" Technical University of Iasi

Prof.dr.,dr.h.c. Anton Friedl Vienna University of Technology

Topics

- Environmental pollution and monitoring
- Water supply and wastewater treatment
- III. Environmental friendly materials
- Sustainable processes and production Events
- Modeling, simulation and optimization
- VI. Environmental biotechnology
- VII. Waste management for resources and energy recovery

VIII.Environmental integrated management and policy issues.

Plenary Sessions Seminars Workshops **Posters Sessions Social Events**

Scientific Committee

Prof.dr. Spyros Agathos Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium Prof.dr. Thomas Amon

Leibniz-Institut für Agrartechnik Potsdam-Bornim, Germany

Prof.dr. Adisa Azapagic The University of Manchester, UK

Prof.dr. Hans Bressers University of Twente, The Netherlands

Prof.dr. Han Brezet

Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

Prof.dr. Dan Cascaval Technical University of Iasi, Romania

Prof.dr., dr.h.c. Yusuf Chisti

Massey University, New Zealand Prof.dr. Cristina Costache

Politehnica University, Bucharest, Romania

Assoc.prof.dr. Igor Cretescu

Technical University of Iasi, Romania

Prof.dr. Göksel Demirer Middle East Technical University, Turkey

Prof.dr., dr.h.c. Gheorghe Duca Academy of Sciences, Republic of Moldova

Prof.dr. Emil Dumitriu

Technical University of Iasi, Romania

Prof.dr. Anca Duta

Transilvania University of Brasov, Romania University of Minho, Portugal

Prof.dr. Fabio Fava

Alma Mater Studiorum-University of Bologna, Bologna, Italy

Prof.dr. Maria Gavrilescu

Technical University of Iasi, Romania

Prof.dr. Ion Giurma

Technical University of Iasi, Romania

Prof.dr. Christoph Herwig Vienna University of Technology, Austria Prof.dr., dr.h.c. Arjen Hoekstra University of Twente, The Netherlands

Prof.dr., dr.h.c. Michael Jørgensen Aalborg University, Denmark

Prof.dr. Emmanuel G. Koukios National Technical University of Athens,

Prof.dr., dr.h.c. Thomas Lindhqvist IIIEE, Lund University, Sweden

Prof.dr. Matei Macoveanu Technical University of Iasi, Romania

Assoc.prof.dr. Florica Manea Politehnica University Timisoara, Romania

Prof.dr. Antonio Marzocchella University Federico II, Naples, Italy

Prof.dr. Michael Narodoslawsky Graz University of Technology, Austria

Prof.dr. Mircea Nicoara Al.I.Cuza University Iasi, Romania

Prof.dr. Alexandru Ozunu Babes Bolyai University, Cluj, Romania

Prof.dr., dr.h.c. Ákos Rédey Pannonia University, Veszprem, Hungary

Prof.dr., dr.h.c. Maria Madalena dos Santos Alves

Prof.dr. Wilhelm Schabel Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Acad.prof.dr. Bogdan Simionescu

Technical University of Iasi, Romania Romanian Academy, Romania

Prof.dr. Krzysztof Urbaniec Warsaw University of Technology, Poland

















Organizing Committee

Dr. Catalin Balan Dr. George Barjoveanu

Dr. Adela Buburuzan

Dr. Daniela Căilean Dr. Petronela Cozma

Dipl.-Ing. Adela Drljo

Dr. Simona-Andreea Ene

Dr. Michael Fuchs

Dr. Raluca Hlihor

Dr. Brindusa Robu

Dipl.-Ing. Antonia Rom

Dr. Walter Wukovits